What can you learn from a 6 year old?

What can one learn from collaborating on an art piece with a 6 year old? A lot!
I was lucky enough to collaborate on a painting with my 6 year old daughter this weekend.
We were working on a 2 by 3 foot painting for her room. I frequently have my children painting but, this was more of a collaborative painting on one canvas. I came away with quite a few lessons from painting side by side with this talented little artist. Firstly, humming while you paint is very freeing and helps the creative process. Secondly, is to play with brush strokes and just have fun with it. Thirdly, is to take more chances and try a new subject matter. I don’t know the last time I drew a horse but, why not take a chance and give it a try. And finally another big lesson I came away with was to use your instincts to just know that your work is done and it’s ok to walk away and hang that painting. I frequently live with a painting and add more here or there sometimes over working it and sometimes walking away frustrated from it. My 6 year old with confidence walked away happily from her work. It will very soon be hanging in her bedroom.
The quote “Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up.” By Pablo Picasso rang so true today as I worked alongside my daughter. Maybe creating alongside a child is how one can remain an artist. I feel pretty lucky that I was able to do this today. Thanks for the lessons little lady!

<

IMG_0009-0

IMG_0008-0

<a href="https://

2 Comments Add yours

  1. margaret richardson says:

    Gen showed me the finished project. Love it!!! luv Mom Date: Sun, 15 Feb 2015 22:25:08 +0000 To: marric@mymts.net

    Like

  2. Linda Cote says:

    I love this post, and this idea Trish! We often get so serious about art as we get older. Children really remind us that it is fun! My boys are in that self-critiquing stage where nothing measures up. I see the freshness of it, but how does it happen that we forget art is playful and sometimes shouldn’t look like anything? Good on you for doing this with her! So fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

