Spring Break- A time to refresh and find inspiration

2014-04-02 22.06.23
Spring break in my profession as a teacher is a time to refresh oneself. For many it is a time to travel. As an artist it is a time to get working. To find inspiration in as many places as possible. This spring break my family went skiing for a few days! It was an incredibly inspirational time for me. As many may have noticed I have been hooked on painting trees. But, with this long winter I have been looking back at summer, fall and spring photos so have primarily painted trees of blue sunny summer days or long bright autumn days. Well on this little mini trip I became fascinated with winter trees. It was actually the magical shadow of winter trees on the snow and the light that sparkled and reflected on the snow that truly inspired me. So back in the studio I have been painting winter tree landscapes. Even though it is April we here in Manitoba are still knee deep or more like neck deep in snow so it is all around me for inspiration. I look forward to sharing these shadowy, snow paintings soon.

Leave a Reply

